Messi wins Ballon D’Or

1 Dec

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi captured the 2009 Ballon D’Or by the largest margin ever on Tuesday.  The award is given to the European Footballer of the Year and Messi is the first Argentine to win.  Messi received 473 of a possible 480 points to take top honors.  Last year’s winner Cristiano Ronaldo finished second, while Messi’s Barca teammate Xavi came in third.

It is a deserved award for Messi, who led Barcelona to the treble last season.  The talented forward led the Champions League in goals with nine, including one in the final.  He also scored 23 goals in La Liga competition.  An incredibly dynamic player, Messi has the ability to change any game he plays with his sublime touch and deceptive quickness. He’s already off to a great start this year with nine goals.

2009 Ballon D’Or Results
1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United/Real Madrid)
3. Xavi (Barcelona)
4. Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
5. Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona/Inter)
6. Kaka (AC Milan/Real Madrid)
7. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Inter/Barcelona)
8. Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
9. Didier Drogba (Chelsea)
10. Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Check out the awesomeness of Lionel Messi here:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: